Connect with us

Affiliate Success

Affiliate Interviews: Dave Sawyer founder of OnlineCasinoReviewer.com

Published

on

Dave of OCR

Today we bring you a truly exclusive interview with a veteran/master of the iGaming industry! Dave Sawyer has a 16 year old background in the online gambling industry, including 3 years at Ladbrokes International as head of the IT Department. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it!?!

Without any further side details, we give you the interview with Dave Sawyer.

GAV: Dave, we would like to thank you for the opportunity to interview such a highly appreciated professional of the industry. Could you fill out the short form below so our readers can imagine your profile?

Name: Dave Sawyer
Age: 42
Hometown: Bath
Living in: Trowbridge
Favorite Food: Italian
Profession/Job title: Company Director

GAV: Hello Dave, first of all tell us and our readers a little bit about yourself. How did your career start in the online gambling industry? What was the key idea of developing this great online gambling casino guide/community ?

DS: My career in the iGaming Industry started way back at the beginning of October 2000, when I started work for Ladbrokes out in Gibraltar. The week of my start date with Ladbrokes also coincided with the launch of their Online Casino product. Back then the Ladbrokes International Offices were responsible for their telephone betting call centre, online sports book, online casino and then hosted other iGaming products such as Poker, Games etc over the forthcoming years.

During the 2001 Budget, UK betting shop tax duty was scrapped in a deal with the major UK bookmakers who had facilities offshore. Hence as part of the deal we went from a staff of over 200 in Gibraltar to less than 20, once the Call Centre and support staff were relocated to the UK. As I was part of the IT Team, I was kept on, as the casino and subsequently online poker sites were still to be hosted on the Rock.

Soon afterwards both my Managing Director (Ed Ware now CEO of 32Red) at Ladbrokes and the IT Controller (Graham Campbell – Founding Director of 32Red) left. I was then subsequently appointed the IT Services Manager for the Ladbrokes Gibraltar IT Department. It was Graham’s idea for me to enter the affiliate sector in 2003, as at the time he and Ed along with a few others had set up 32Red.com in April 2002. I had been running a pretty active political forum, which was receiving good exposure in the search engines, in particular Google. So eventually after much persuasion from Graham I bit the bullet and in August 2004 I registered the domain name OnlineCasinoReviewer.com. It took about 9 months before the site started to generate revenue or receive exposure in Google search – this was during the time when new sites would be placed in the dreaded ‘Sandbox’. But by June 2005, I decided to take the plunge and work on the site full time, handing in my resignation in June 2005. Leaving Ladbrokes at the end of August 2005, after serving a 3 month notice period and after working for them for nearly 5 years.

As a player as well as an affiliate, I offer our visitors the information that I as player need, to make an informed decision as to where to play at online. Having had nearly 5 years experience working for an iGaming Operator in the form of Ladbrokes, I am also able to offer my own views, opinions and advice from my own unique perspective. Online Casino Reviewer is not a directory, meaning it does not list every single site available to play at online. Indeed, currently there are only 29 recommended casinos on the site. With each one I have personally played at and experienced.

In short, OCR is a resource for players written by players.

 

OCR logo

 

GAV: Since there are thousands and thousands of websites in your niche out there, where do you think Onlinecasinoreviewer.com stands now?

DS: Unlike the majority of ‘affiliate’ sites targeting the online casino space, OCR as mentioned above is a resource for players, written by players. Instead of the general reviews of casinos and games found on the majority of sites, which sugar coat everything, the real pitfalls of any of the properties featured on OCR are spelled out. This in addition to our helpful guides such as on Reverse Withdrawals, Casino Bonuses, Fast Paying Casinos to name but three articles, allow players to make an informed choice before opening an account at online casino.

GAV: How do you see the online casino market/industry at this moment?

DS: This industry never ceases to amaze me and is still growing at a fast pace. The operators working in this space are some of the most innovative that you can find online. The potential for growth is still very real and this has seen an influx of ‘Super Affiliates’ enter the space and compete for a slice of the revenue available.

GAV: How did you start and most of all what bumps did you have to overcome at the beginning?

DS: As stated above, I was working at Ladbrokes in Gibraltar when I launched OCR. Thus had the luxury of a regular salary coming in before I started to earn revenue from the site. The main issue at the time was dealing with the dreaded ‘Google Sandbox’.

GAV: We have analyzed Onlinecasinoreviewer.com and found some great quality content. Are you writing it by yourself or do you have a team of people writing for you? How many reviews are there on your website? How about the news and the software categories, tell us a bit more about it?

DS: The vast majority of the content is written by myself. However, I have outsourced some of the slot game reviews to players who I know through my participation on the Casinomeister Forum.

GAV: How do you manage to keep the content fresh and relevant on your website, when a lot of fluffy and nonsense appear on the Internet on a daily basis?

DS: The key is to provide information that you as a player would want to read. Sugar coated reviews do not hold the visitors interest and as such visitors are more inclined to hit the back button on their browser.

GAV: Another thing that we like is your YouTube Channel, please be so kind and tell us more about it!

DS: When I redesigned OCR at the beginning of 2016, I realized video content is becoming more and more important. Hence our YouTube Channel was born. The purpose of the channel is to complement the site and also act as an independent resource in it’s own right. As well as videos of slot games in play, I also provide reviews of the casinos and cover various topics which I feel are important for players. Such as the dreaded ‘Reverse Withdrawals’ which many online casinos employ. After watching our Reverse Withdrawal Video, you will realize I am not a fan! In addition I also provide videos relating to my experiences as a webmaster, a fairly popular set of videos was when I detailed what happened to OCR after I implemented SSL on the site and the brief drop in rankings in google that occurred as a result.

GAV: We are pretty sure that you receive messages from Affiliate Managers on a daily basis showcasing their best products. You of course select them by the brands they work with; but what are your thoughts on how a real Affiliate Manager-Affiliate relationship should be built?

DS: The good relationships in my view are those which leave you to get on with your day to day job running your sites, rather than being badgered and pestered for what seems like every five minutes. I am lucky to have built up a good relationship with all the affiliate managers representing the online casinos we work with.

GAV: How do you see the future of the online casino/gambling industry? For instance, will it become a truly global phenomenon?

DS: I believe it already is. Obviously there are barriers such as individual countries regulation. There are also areas such as Asia and South America which has vast potential. The key is resolving issues with payment processors, so players in those territories are able to fund and withdraw from their accounts without any big issues.

GAV: Tell us one change that you want to see in the online casino affiliate ecosystem?!

DS: More transparency. Although how that is achieved is the big issue. As affiliates we are blind with regards the stats generated by the players we refer. Ideally it would be good to have an independent body that can go in and audit the affiliate programs. As it stands there are only a couple of programs I can trust 100% and one of them was set up by a very good friend of mine, with the CEO being my former MD ( 32Red ). I hate to even begin to think how much has been ‘shaved’ off our earnings over the past 13 years.

GAV: Do you have any advise you would like to offer and share with the newbies who are looking to venture into this great industry!?

DS: This is not a get rich quick scheme. Particularly so now, with many venture capitalists joining the affiliate space. If you provide good content and are passionate about playing at casinos online, you should have a chance of making a success of your site. You also need to see what players want. Join a players forum such as Casinomeister and also if you can, attend one of the many affiliate conferences which are held throughout the year. Networking with your peers is crucial as you can then build great relationships with other webmasters. In turn helping each other out. Whether it be advise, or exchanging links.

GAV: Do you attend any iGaming/online casino conferences? If so, which one is your favorite and what is your most fun experience?

DS: My favourite of all time used to be the Casino Affiliate Convention held in Amsterdam. I got engaged to my wife during the 2006 conference and I also spoke on the end of session Beer Forum Panel in 2007. Plus the small memory of escaping the Ash Cloud affected conference of 2011. That was fun. Getting a train with Alex Pratt of iGaming Business, from Amsterdam to Dunkirk. Then the ferry back to Dover courtesy of Wael – An affiliate manager from the casino Box24.

I’ve also spoken at LAC back in 2011, where I was on panel with Michael Corfman from CasinoCity and JTodd of the APCW. I would consider going to a Vegas conference, but I am worried I would literally lose my shirt! So as of yet I still am to make the trip there.

GAV: How did you see this year’s edition of ICE compared to previous years? Did you attend LAC (London Affiliate Conference) as well?

DS: I only attended the ICE and also the annual Casinomeister Meet. I have produced a couple of videos covering both. 2 nights in London is enough for me. The ICE just continues to get bigger every year. Back in 2006 which was the first ICE I attended, iGaming was only afforded a small area of space at Earls Court. Now the stands for iGaming rival the space afforded to their land based cousin.

 

GAV: What do you think the chances are for Eastern Europe to become a potential gaming hotspot in the future? Where do you think the region must improve upon?

DS: Again, I believe this is another lucrative market and whilst in the past there have been issues with fraudulent player activity, it does seem to be an area for potential growth.

GAV: Where would you like to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: Funnily enough I have always wanted to go to Russia. But, I won’t be going there for the World Cup in 2018!

GAV: Where you wouldn’t want to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: I like travelling, so I’m quite adventurous. There is honestly no where I wouldn’t go if provided the opportunity.

GAV: How about a favorite celebrity, do you have one?

DS: To be honest, no I don’t.

GAV: Do you have a favorite quoute?

DS: It is what it is.

GAV: Tell us your opinion about the Gambling Affiliate Voice?

DS: A good resource for webmasters in the industry. Well worth bookmarking.

 

If you would like to suggest subjects for future interviews, be sure to send your suggestions to: george@gamblingaffiliatevoice.com .

Affiliate Announcements

Rightlander partners with BetBull

Published

on

Rightlander partners with BetBull

 

Supplier to help tier one operator improve affiliate compliance

Rightlander.com, the ground-breaking compliance platform has signed a deal with BetBull to help them improve affiliate compliance and boost responsible gambling measures.

Nicole MittonHead of Customer Success at Rightlander.com, said: “It’s great to see operators like BetBull partnering with Rightlander to ensure adherence to advertising regulations. These efforts are not only noteworthy from a regulatory point of view, but are also a solid indicator that BetBull are invested in protecting the interests of their stakeholders, affiliates and players in regulated markets.”

Rightlander will offer its technology which encompasses a comprehensive range of affiliate compliance tools which include the Automated Compliance Monitor, a PPC Monitor and a Proactive Affiliate Finder allowing BetBull to remain proactive and in control of their affiliate marketing.

Gabrielle Mallia, BetBull said: “We decided to opt for Rightlander because of its ability to give further visibility into our affiliate’s practices. The PPC Monitor is particularly key in allowing us to ensure adherence to policies specifically related to keywords and geos of promotion. Rightlander increases the efficiency in our compliance monitoring with its wide scope and allows us to quickly identify any breaches should they occur.”

The Automated Compliance Monitor helps detect non-compliant content across territories including the United Kingdom, Sweden, Denmark, Australia and the United States. The monitor flags potential violations such as missing terms and conditions, outdated offers, incorrect marketing assets allowing BetBull to remain compliant according to their jurisdiction’s regulations.

The Proactive Affiliate Finder scans millions of web pages every month to identify new and prominent sites and the innovative PPC Monitor identifies harmful ads to stop them from appearing on an operator’s branded keywords.

Continue Reading

Affiliate Program News

1xBet Partners: An affiliate program that stands out from the crowd

Published

on

1xBet Partners: An affiliate program that stands out from the crowd

 

Nominated for the Affiliate Program of the year at the Global Gaming Awards, the 1xBet Team reveals how the bookmaker has built a 30,000-strong network of healthy partnerships across the globe, with each 1xBet Partner receiving feedback and exclusive promotional materials to ensure they accurately represent the 1xBet brand of quality and success.

 

iGT: How important are affiliates to the betting industry and, in particular, 1xBet?

1xBet Team: The mechanics of affiliate programs make affiliates a vital part of any industry. Betting is no exception because also, thanks to partners, brands manage to increase growth rates. This is quantifiable, with key indicators being new users, deposits, player activity.

We have great respect for the 1xBet affiliate program participants who introduce their audience to our brand. We have more than 30 thousand partners from all over the world on our side, and this list includes both the owners of huge sites and novice bloggers, for example.

The contribution of each affects the results that we achieve. Therefore, a partnership is a two-way road. After all, we, in turn, offer affiliates favourable terms of cooperation.

 

iGT: What is the key to a successful affiliate program?

1xBet Team: Today, the number of affiliate programs is growing, including among bookmakers, and you need to be able to stand out. How to do it? There may be different approaches here: someone offers high commission rates, someone has an original approach to communication, and someone invents new models of cooperation.

We constantly evaluate our work in the area of ​​partnership programs. Our positive results are reflected in victories and nominations at prestigious awards. For example, this year, we were nominated for the Affiliate Program of the year at the Global Gaming Awards. This is a good sign that we are continuing to move in the right direction.

 

iGT: How has 1xBet assisted its affiliates to overcome challenges and reach their target markets?

1xBet Team: An affiliate program is a good opportunity to make your project profitable. For many of our affiliates, working with us is their primary source of income.

We are fully aware that partners have their own goals and challenges, and therefore we make collaborating with us reliable and orderly. Each partner can count on feedback and receiving exclusive materials for publication. We stand for quality, and we need partners to convey information about our brand correctly.

1xBet Partners is a story about healthy partnerships, where both parties try to give their maximum to achieve the optimal results.

 

iGT: What feedback have you received from affiliates over the last year?

1xBet Team: We have received many positive messages from affiliates. 2021 is turning out to be a great year because it’s been an exciting sports season: the Euro, the Olympics and dozens of other events. Therefore, we prepared various large promotions for all these activities.

This allowed partners to monetise their traffic, and for us – to introduce new users, who could bet on their favourite sports, to this feast of sporting action.

Let’s not forget that 1xBet is also a prominent player in the esports arena. We have major agreements with ESL and WePlay, an excellent range of betting options, plus attractive promotions dedicated to top tournaments. This only expanded the potential for cooperation with us, especially for those sites that do not gravitate towards sports.

In short, the partners are excited about how things are going in 2021. We are too.

 

iGT: How do you plan to continue to support and help grow your affiliates in the future?

1xBet Team: We have a number of ideas on how to make our affiliate program even better. Of course, we are constantly working on improving what we have, but we also have new ideas in our plans.

We would not want to reveal all our cards yet, but the partners will definitely be happy with any new methods adopted by 1xBet Partners. Stay tuned!

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards

Published

on

Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards

The IGB judges said the company’s innovative work with SEO “helped Blexr stand out as a winner, and we liked the deposit guarantee that they offer to their customers”.

The judges added: “Their selective way of working means Blexr only collaborates with top quality partners, which judges felt had helped contribute to their impressive growth over the last 12 months.”

IGB also mentioned how “Blexr’s charitable work within the community helped them stand out as an affiliate to be highly commended”.

Blexr is a lead generation company which operates in the iGaming, sportsbook and forex affiliate markets. It also owns the Home Grounds website, which serves a community of home baristas.

Ian Hills, Blexr’s general manager in Malta, said: “We’re delighted and thrilled to be recognised by IGB this way.

“We pride ourselves on recruiting smart people with innovative ideas and winning a prestigious award like this one is a lovely way for the whole team to be rewarded for their hard work and dedication.”

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Latest News

1xBet to share vision for betting's future at iGB Live!/iGB Affiliate Amsterdam 1xBet to share vision for betting's future at iGB Live!/iGB Affiliate Amsterdam
Conferences1 month ago

1xBet to share vision for betting’s future at iGB Live!/iGB Affiliate Amsterdam

  ‘A glimpse into the future and a chance to see what the industry will be like tomorrow’ is how...

Soft2bet – celebrating 5-years of success at iGB Live!/iGB Affiliate Amsterdam Soft2bet – celebrating 5-years of success at iGB Live!/iGB Affiliate Amsterdam
News1 month ago

Soft2bet – celebrating 5-years of success at iGB Live!/iGB Affiliate Amsterdam

  Soft2bet, the casino and sportsbook platform, will be in celebratory mood when the industry gathers at the forthcoming iGB...

Rightlander partners with BetBull Rightlander partners with BetBull
Affiliate Announcements1 month ago

Rightlander partners with BetBull

  Supplier to help tier one operator improve affiliate compliance Rightlander.com, the ground-breaking compliance platform has signed a deal with...

Acroud launches The Festival Series in Bratislava Acroud launches The Festival Series in Bratislava
Affiliate Announcements1 month ago

Acroud launches The Festival Series in Bratislava

  Acroud returns to the live events scene with the launch of the first edition of The Festival Series. By...

Tara Wilson, Chief Operating Officer of Paysafe's Income Access Tara Wilson, Chief Operating Officer of Paysafe's Income Access
Affiliate Program News2 months ago

Paysafe expands Betfred USA Sports partnership through Income Access deal

  U.S. sportsbook will leverage Paysafe’s Income Access to launch affiliate marketing program across multiple states  Paysafe, a leading specialized...

1xBet Partners: An affiliate program that stands out from the crowd 1xBet Partners: An affiliate program that stands out from the crowd
Affiliate Program News2 months ago

1xBet Partners: An affiliate program that stands out from the crowd

  Nominated for the Affiliate Program of the year at the Global Gaming Awards, the 1xBet Team reveals how the...

Over 2/3 of Gambling Experts Believe in Global Self-exclusion, Casino Guru Survey Reveals Over 2/3 of Gambling Experts Believe in Global Self-exclusion, Casino Guru Survey Reveals
News2 months ago

Over 2/3 of Gambling Experts Believe in Global Self-exclusion, Casino Guru Survey Reveals

  A survey by the world’s biggest casino database, online gambling authority, and activist for sustainable gambling measures, Casino Guru,...

News2 months ago

What are the Biggest New Slot Games of 2021 So Far?

  There are a wide variety of slot games that are released each year. Every single game has been designed...

Svenskaonlinecasino.info: A Review of Sweden’s Right to Gamble Online Svenskaonlinecasino.info: A Review of Sweden’s Right to Gamble Online
News2 months ago

Svenskaonlinecasino.info: A Review of Sweden’s Right to Gamble Online

  For many players online that wish to gamble, often the goal-posts are shifted with new laws and ruling that...

News3 months ago

Does the iGaming industry struggle with integrity when it comes to reviews?

  In this day and age building a successful iGaming affiliate site requires so much more than just an attractive...

Trending

European Gaming Media and Events is a leading media and boutique event organizer in the European Union with a monthly reach of +110,000 readers. The official company (PROSHIRT SRL), has been listed for 4 years in a row among the top 3 Advertising and market research agencies in the local Top Business Romania Microcompanies based on the Financial Reports.

Contact us: sales@europeangaming.eu

Editorial / PR Submissions: editor@europeangaming.eu

Copyright © 2015 - 2021 European Gaming Media and Events. Registered in Romania under Proshirt SRL, Company number: 2134306, EU VAT ID: RO21343605. Office address: Blvd. 1 Decembrie 1918 nr.5, Targu Mures, Romania