Connect with us

Affiliate Success

Affiliate Interviews: Dave Sawyer founder of OnlineCasinoReviewer.com

Published

on

Dave of OCR

Today we bring you a truly exclusive interview with a veteran/master of the iGaming industry! Dave Sawyer has a 16 year old background in the online gambling industry, including 3 years at Ladbrokes International as head of the IT Department. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it!?!

Without any further side details, we give you the interview with Dave Sawyer.

GAV: Dave, we would like to thank you for the opportunity to interview such a highly appreciated professional of the industry. Could you fill out the short form below so our readers can imagine your profile?

Name: Dave Sawyer
Age: 42
Hometown: Bath
Living in: Trowbridge
Favorite Food: Italian
Profession/Job title: Company Director

GAV: Hello Dave, first of all tell us and our readers a little bit about yourself. How did your career start in the online gambling industry? What was the key idea of developing this great online gambling casino guide/community ?

DS: My career in the iGaming Industry started way back at the beginning of October 2000, when I started work for Ladbrokes out in Gibraltar. The week of my start date with Ladbrokes also coincided with the launch of their Online Casino product. Back then the Ladbrokes International Offices were responsible for their telephone betting call centre, online sports book, online casino and then hosted other iGaming products such as Poker, Games etc over the forthcoming years.

During the 2001 Budget, UK betting shop tax duty was scrapped in a deal with the major UK bookmakers who had facilities offshore. Hence as part of the deal we went from a staff of over 200 in Gibraltar to less than 20, once the Call Centre and support staff were relocated to the UK. As I was part of the IT Team, I was kept on, as the casino and subsequently online poker sites were still to be hosted on the Rock.

Soon afterwards both my Managing Director (Ed Ware now CEO of 32Red) at Ladbrokes and the IT Controller (Graham Campbell – Founding Director of 32Red) left. I was then subsequently appointed the IT Services Manager for the Ladbrokes Gibraltar IT Department. It was Graham’s idea for me to enter the affiliate sector in 2003, as at the time he and Ed along with a few others had set up 32Red.com in April 2002. I had been running a pretty active political forum, which was receiving good exposure in the search engines, in particular Google. So eventually after much persuasion from Graham I bit the bullet and in August 2004 I registered the domain name OnlineCasinoReviewer.com. It took about 9 months before the site started to generate revenue or receive exposure in Google search – this was during the time when new sites would be placed in the dreaded ‘Sandbox’. But by June 2005, I decided to take the plunge and work on the site full time, handing in my resignation in June 2005. Leaving Ladbrokes at the end of August 2005, after serving a 3 month notice period and after working for them for nearly 5 years.

As a player as well as an affiliate, I offer our visitors the information that I as player need, to make an informed decision as to where to play at online. Having had nearly 5 years experience working for an iGaming Operator in the form of Ladbrokes, I am also able to offer my own views, opinions and advice from my own unique perspective. Online Casino Reviewer is not a directory, meaning it does not list every single site available to play at online. Indeed, currently there are only 29 recommended casinos on the site. With each one I have personally played at and experienced.

In short, OCR is a resource for players written by players.

 

OCR logo

 

GAV: Since there are thousands and thousands of websites in your niche out there, where do you think Onlinecasinoreviewer.com stands now?

DS: Unlike the majority of ‘affiliate’ sites targeting the online casino space, OCR as mentioned above is a resource for players, written by players. Instead of the general reviews of casinos and games found on the majority of sites, which sugar coat everything, the real pitfalls of any of the properties featured on OCR are spelled out. This in addition to our helpful guides such as on Reverse Withdrawals, Casino Bonuses, Fast Paying Casinos to name but three articles, allow players to make an informed choice before opening an account at online casino.

GAV: How do you see the online casino market/industry at this moment?

DS: This industry never ceases to amaze me and is still growing at a fast pace. The operators working in this space are some of the most innovative that you can find online. The potential for growth is still very real and this has seen an influx of ‘Super Affiliates’ enter the space and compete for a slice of the revenue available.

GAV: How did you start and most of all what bumps did you have to overcome at the beginning?

DS: As stated above, I was working at Ladbrokes in Gibraltar when I launched OCR. Thus had the luxury of a regular salary coming in before I started to earn revenue from the site. The main issue at the time was dealing with the dreaded ‘Google Sandbox’.

GAV: We have analyzed Onlinecasinoreviewer.com and found some great quality content. Are you writing it by yourself or do you have a team of people writing for you? How many reviews are there on your website? How about the news and the software categories, tell us a bit more about it?

DS: The vast majority of the content is written by myself. However, I have outsourced some of the slot game reviews to players who I know through my participation on the Casinomeister Forum.

GAV: How do you manage to keep the content fresh and relevant on your website, when a lot of fluffy and nonsense appear on the Internet on a daily basis?

DS: The key is to provide information that you as a player would want to read. Sugar coated reviews do not hold the visitors interest and as such visitors are more inclined to hit the back button on their browser.

GAV: Another thing that we like is your YouTube Channel, please be so kind and tell us more about it!

DS: When I redesigned OCR at the beginning of 2016, I realized video content is becoming more and more important. Hence our YouTube Channel was born. The purpose of the channel is to complement the site and also act as an independent resource in it’s own right. As well as videos of slot games in play, I also provide reviews of the casinos and cover various topics which I feel are important for players. Such as the dreaded ‘Reverse Withdrawals’ which many online casinos employ. After watching our Reverse Withdrawal Video, you will realize I am not a fan! In addition I also provide videos relating to my experiences as a webmaster, a fairly popular set of videos was when I detailed what happened to OCR after I implemented SSL on the site and the brief drop in rankings in google that occurred as a result.

GAV: We are pretty sure that you receive messages from Affiliate Managers on a daily basis showcasing their best products. You of course select them by the brands they work with; but what are your thoughts on how a real Affiliate Manager-Affiliate relationship should be built?

DS: The good relationships in my view are those which leave you to get on with your day to day job running your sites, rather than being badgered and pestered for what seems like every five minutes. I am lucky to have built up a good relationship with all the affiliate managers representing the online casinos we work with.

GAV: How do you see the future of the online casino/gambling industry? For instance, will it become a truly global phenomenon?

DS: I believe it already is. Obviously there are barriers such as individual countries regulation. There are also areas such as Asia and South America which has vast potential. The key is resolving issues with payment processors, so players in those territories are able to fund and withdraw from their accounts without any big issues.

GAV: Tell us one change that you want to see in the online casino affiliate ecosystem?!

DS: More transparency. Although how that is achieved is the big issue. As affiliates we are blind with regards the stats generated by the players we refer. Ideally it would be good to have an independent body that can go in and audit the affiliate programs. As it stands there are only a couple of programs I can trust 100% and one of them was set up by a very good friend of mine, with the CEO being my former MD ( 32Red ). I hate to even begin to think how much has been ‘shaved’ off our earnings over the past 13 years.

GAV: Do you have any advise you would like to offer and share with the newbies who are looking to venture into this great industry!?

DS: This is not a get rich quick scheme. Particularly so now, with many venture capitalists joining the affiliate space. If you provide good content and are passionate about playing at casinos online, you should have a chance of making a success of your site. You also need to see what players want. Join a players forum such as Casinomeister and also if you can, attend one of the many affiliate conferences which are held throughout the year. Networking with your peers is crucial as you can then build great relationships with other webmasters. In turn helping each other out. Whether it be advise, or exchanging links.

GAV: Do you attend any iGaming/online casino conferences? If so, which one is your favorite and what is your most fun experience?

DS: My favourite of all time used to be the Casino Affiliate Convention held in Amsterdam. I got engaged to my wife during the 2006 conference and I also spoke on the end of session Beer Forum Panel in 2007. Plus the small memory of escaping the Ash Cloud affected conference of 2011. That was fun. Getting a train with Alex Pratt of iGaming Business, from Amsterdam to Dunkirk. Then the ferry back to Dover courtesy of Wael – An affiliate manager from the casino Box24.

I’ve also spoken at LAC back in 2011, where I was on panel with Michael Corfman from CasinoCity and JTodd of the APCW. I would consider going to a Vegas conference, but I am worried I would literally lose my shirt! So as of yet I still am to make the trip there.

GAV: How did you see this year’s edition of ICE compared to previous years? Did you attend LAC (London Affiliate Conference) as well?

DS: I only attended the ICE and also the annual Casinomeister Meet. I have produced a couple of videos covering both. 2 nights in London is enough for me. The ICE just continues to get bigger every year. Back in 2006 which was the first ICE I attended, iGaming was only afforded a small area of space at Earls Court. Now the stands for iGaming rival the space afforded to their land based cousin.

 

GAV: What do you think the chances are for Eastern Europe to become a potential gaming hotspot in the future? Where do you think the region must improve upon?

DS: Again, I believe this is another lucrative market and whilst in the past there have been issues with fraudulent player activity, it does seem to be an area for potential growth.

GAV: Where would you like to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: Funnily enough I have always wanted to go to Russia. But, I won’t be going there for the World Cup in 2018!

GAV: Where you wouldn’t want to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: I like travelling, so I’m quite adventurous. There is honestly no where I wouldn’t go if provided the opportunity.

GAV: How about a favorite celebrity, do you have one?

DS: To be honest, no I don’t.

GAV: Do you have a favorite quoute?

DS: It is what it is.

GAV: Tell us your opinion about the Gambling Affiliate Voice?

DS: A good resource for webmasters in the industry. Well worth bookmarking.

 

If you would like to suggest subjects for future interviews, be sure to send your suggestions to: george@gamblingaffiliatevoice.com .

Affiliate Success

Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards

Published

on

Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards

The IGB judges said the company’s innovative work with SEO “helped Blexr stand out as a winner, and we liked the deposit guarantee that they offer to their customers”.

The judges added: “Their selective way of working means Blexr only collaborates with top quality partners, which judges felt had helped contribute to their impressive growth over the last 12 months.”

IGB also mentioned how “Blexr’s charitable work within the community helped them stand out as an affiliate to be highly commended”.

Blexr is a lead generation company which operates in the iGaming, sportsbook and forex affiliate markets. It also owns the Home Grounds website, which serves a community of home baristas.

Ian Hills, Blexr’s general manager in Malta, said: “We’re delighted and thrilled to be recognised by IGB this way.

“We pride ourselves on recruiting smart people with innovative ideas and winning a prestigious award like this one is a lovely way for the whole team to be rewarded for their hard work and dedication.”

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

GiG Media reaches top 3 in EGR Power Affiliates Ranking

Published

on

GiG Media reaches top 3 in EGR Power Affiliates Ranking

 

Gaming Innovation Group’s media affiliate business, GiG Media has been given industry recognition as one of the top three power affiliates within the gaming industry in this year’s Power Affiliate Ranking 2021.

The annual Power Affiliates list commends 25 of the most successful affiliate businesses in the global gambling industry and is referred to by EGR as “a comprehensive rundown of the biggest online gambling affiliates operating in the sector today.”

GiG Media grew from strength to strength in 2020, In December 2020 GiG Media realised an all-time high in monthly revenue and generated the 2nd highest monthly player intake over the past two years. The positive developments continued in the new year. In  Q1 2021 GiG’s media business reached an all-time quarterly high in player intake and in revenue.  In Q1 2021 player intake grew 56% YoY and 31% QoQ hitting an all-time high in players generated quarterly for GiG Media.

Jonas Warrer, CMO at GiG said: “ I am extremely proud that we have officially been named one of the top three Power Affiliates in this year’s EGR Power Affiliates Ranking, up nine places from last year! This is a strong testament to all the hard work and dedication the organisation has put into improving our websites, our campaigns, our IT, our content, our design, – just to name a few areas. I am happy to see that our focus on organic growth resulted in continuous improvements throughout 2020, with the aim of new all-time-highs to come throughout the rest of 2021.”

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

Bojoko crowned Affiliate of the Year at EGR Nordic Awards

Published

on

Bojoko crowned Affiliate of the Year at EGR Nordic Awards

 

Popular online casino listing site fends off stiff competition to take home the trophy at prestigious awards ceremony

 The Bojoko team is celebrating once again after being named Affiliate of the Year at the prestigious EGR Nordic Awards 2021.

This is the second EGR award that Bojoko has taken home after being crowned Casino Affiliate of the Year at the hotly contested EGR Operator Awards 2020.

Bojoko fought off stiff competition from some of the biggest names in the affiliate industry including AskGamblers, Better Collective, Blexr, Catena Media and the Gambling.com Group.

EGR judges said it had been “another excellent year” for Bojoko and that its SEO performance and overall conversion “really shines”.

The EGR judges added: “A more unique idea than most affiliates with great growth and sustainability. A very clever and new type of affiliate that is showing great success. Well done!”

Bojoko allows online casino operators and game developers in the Nordics to create their own dedicated listing page and tell their story through their own words, images and videos.

Bojoko members, of which there are now 30,000+, then rate and review each casino and game and share their honest opinion about the experience they receive.

During the judging period Bojoko built out its team dedicated to the Nordics which led to a 10x increase in unique site visitors and a 25x increase in registered Finnish players.

Joonas Karhu, Chief Business Officer at Bojoko.com, said: “We will need to find more space for our trophies after scooping our second EGR award in as many months but seriously, the entire team is thrilled how have been recognised for our work in the Nordics.

“The Nordics remain a key focus for us and we see plenty of opportunity to drive growth from the region by providing players with our award-winning online casino listing product and service.

“Our mission from day one has been to help players quickly and easily select online casinos through transparency and community feedback and it is a concept that has proved to be hugely popular.

“I would like to thank the EGR judges for recognising our efforts and successes in the Nordics by crowning Bojoko Affiliate of the Year 2021.”

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Latest News

News24 hours ago

Does the iGaming industry struggle with integrity when it comes to reviews?

  In this day and age building a successful iGaming affiliate site requires so much more than just an attractive...

Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Affiliate Software Supplier’ 2021 EGR B2B award Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Affiliate Software Supplier’ 2021 EGR B2B award
News24 hours ago

Paysafe’s Income Access Partners with The Pools for Launch of New Affiliate Programme

Income Access, the marketing technology and services provider from Paysafe (NYSE: PSFE), today announced the launch of a new affiliate...

Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards
Affiliate Success1 week ago

Blexr has been crowned Best Casino Affiliate at this year’s IGB Affiliate Awards

The IGB judges said the company’s innovative work with SEO “helped Blexr stand out as a winner, and we liked...

How Vera & John became the market-leading online casino in Japan How Vera & John became the market-leading online casino in Japan
News1 week ago

How Vera & John became the market-leading online casino in Japan

  In most places of the world, gambling and casinos are outlawed. Likewise, under the law and regulation of Japan,...

Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Affiliate Software Supplier’ 2021 EGR B2B award Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Affiliate Software Supplier’ 2021 EGR B2B award
Awards2 weeks ago

Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Affiliate Software Supplier’ 2021 EGR B2B award

  Paysafe, a leading specialized payments platform, announced that Income Access, its marketing technology and services provider, won in the...

Metal Casino to conquer the Spanish market Metal Casino to conquer the Spanish market
News2 weeks ago

Metal Casino to conquer the Spanish market

    When Spiffbet acquired Metal Casino the brand’s innovative community-based approach had to be adapted to a new regulatory...

Scout Gaming launches fantasy sports affiliation through Dreamsport.com Scout Gaming launches fantasy sports affiliation through Dreamsport.com
News3 weeks ago

Scout Gaming launches fantasy sports affiliation through Dreamsport.com

  Scout Gaming has successfully launched their fantasy software in a free-to-play mode on Dreamsport.com, an IP wholly owned by...

News3 weeks ago

What do Affiliates Need to Consider in NZ from a Regulatory Perspective?

  Online gambling remains an increasingly popular pastime in New Zealand, thanks to a peculiar and surprisingly commonplace set of...

News3 weeks ago

How Will Gambling Affiliates be Affected by Rule Changes in the UK?

As the iGaming market in the UK has grown exponentially since 2010, we’ve also seen associated money-making opportunities emerge in...

247Partners strengthens leadership with strategic appointment 247Partners strengthens leadership with strategic appointment
Affiliate Announcements1 month ago

247Partners strengthens leadership with strategic appointment

  The leading multi-brand affiliate programme 247Partners has appointed Alex Boiko to the position of Head of Affiliate. Alex brings...

Trending

European Gaming Media and Events is a leading media and boutique event organizer in the European Union with a monthly reach of +110,000 readers. The official company (PROSHIRT SRL), has been listed for 4 years in a row among the top 3 Advertising and market research agencies in the local Top Business Romania Microcompanies based on the Financial Reports.

Contact us: sales@europeangaming.eu

Editorial / PR Submissions: editor@europeangaming.eu

Copyright © 2015 - 2021 European Gaming Media and Events. Registered in Romania under Proshirt SRL, Company number: 2134306, EU VAT ID: RO21343605. Office address: Blvd. 1 Decembrie 1918 nr.5, Targu Mures, Romania