Connect with us

Affiliate Success

Affiliate Interviews: Dave Sawyer founder of OnlineCasinoReviewer.com

Published

on

Dave of OCR

Today we bring you a truly exclusive interview with a veteran/master of the iGaming industry! Dave Sawyer has a 16 year old background in the online gambling industry, including 3 years at Ladbrokes International as head of the IT Department. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it!?!

Without any further side details, we give you the interview with Dave Sawyer.

GAV: Dave, we would like to thank you for the opportunity to interview such a highly appreciated professional of the industry. Could you fill out the short form below so our readers can imagine your profile?

Name: Dave Sawyer
Age: 42
Hometown: Bath
Living in: Trowbridge
Favorite Food: Italian
Profession/Job title: Company Director

GAV: Hello Dave, first of all tell us and our readers a little bit about yourself. How did your career start in the online gambling industry? What was the key idea of developing this great online gambling casino guide/community ?

DS: My career in the iGaming Industry started way back at the beginning of October 2000, when I started work for Ladbrokes out in Gibraltar. The week of my start date with Ladbrokes also coincided with the launch of their Online Casino product. Back then the Ladbrokes International Offices were responsible for their telephone betting call centre, online sports book, online casino and then hosted other iGaming products such as Poker, Games etc over the forthcoming years.

During the 2001 Budget, UK betting shop tax duty was scrapped in a deal with the major UK bookmakers who had facilities offshore. Hence as part of the deal we went from a staff of over 200 in Gibraltar to less than 20, once the Call Centre and support staff were relocated to the UK. As I was part of the IT Team, I was kept on, as the casino and subsequently online poker sites were still to be hosted on the Rock.

Soon afterwards both my Managing Director (Ed Ware now CEO of 32Red) at Ladbrokes and the IT Controller (Graham Campbell – Founding Director of 32Red) left. I was then subsequently appointed the IT Services Manager for the Ladbrokes Gibraltar IT Department. It was Graham’s idea for me to enter the affiliate sector in 2003, as at the time he and Ed along with a few others had set up 32Red.com in April 2002. I had been running a pretty active political forum, which was receiving good exposure in the search engines, in particular Google. So eventually after much persuasion from Graham I bit the bullet and in August 2004 I registered the domain name OnlineCasinoReviewer.com. It took about 9 months before the site started to generate revenue or receive exposure in Google search – this was during the time when new sites would be placed in the dreaded ‘Sandbox’. But by June 2005, I decided to take the plunge and work on the site full time, handing in my resignation in June 2005. Leaving Ladbrokes at the end of August 2005, after serving a 3 month notice period and after working for them for nearly 5 years.

As a player as well as an affiliate, I offer our visitors the information that I as player need, to make an informed decision as to where to play at online. Having had nearly 5 years experience working for an iGaming Operator in the form of Ladbrokes, I am also able to offer my own views, opinions and advice from my own unique perspective. Online Casino Reviewer is not a directory, meaning it does not list every single site available to play at online. Indeed, currently there are only 29 recommended casinos on the site. With each one I have personally played at and experienced.

In short, OCR is a resource for players written by players.

 

OCR logo

 

GAV: Since there are thousands and thousands of websites in your niche out there, where do you think Onlinecasinoreviewer.com stands now?

DS: Unlike the majority of ‘affiliate’ sites targeting the online casino space, OCR as mentioned above is a resource for players, written by players. Instead of the general reviews of casinos and games found on the majority of sites, which sugar coat everything, the real pitfalls of any of the properties featured on OCR are spelled out. This in addition to our helpful guides such as on Reverse Withdrawals, Casino Bonuses, Fast Paying Casinos to name but three articles, allow players to make an informed choice before opening an account at online casino.

GAV: How do you see the online casino market/industry at this moment?

DS: This industry never ceases to amaze me and is still growing at a fast pace. The operators working in this space are some of the most innovative that you can find online. The potential for growth is still very real and this has seen an influx of ‘Super Affiliates’ enter the space and compete for a slice of the revenue available.

GAV: How did you start and most of all what bumps did you have to overcome at the beginning?

DS: As stated above, I was working at Ladbrokes in Gibraltar when I launched OCR. Thus had the luxury of a regular salary coming in before I started to earn revenue from the site. The main issue at the time was dealing with the dreaded ‘Google Sandbox’.

GAV: We have analyzed Onlinecasinoreviewer.com and found some great quality content. Are you writing it by yourself or do you have a team of people writing for you? How many reviews are there on your website? How about the news and the software categories, tell us a bit more about it?

DS: The vast majority of the content is written by myself. However, I have outsourced some of the slot game reviews to players who I know through my participation on the Casinomeister Forum.

GAV: How do you manage to keep the content fresh and relevant on your website, when a lot of fluffy and nonsense appear on the Internet on a daily basis?

DS: The key is to provide information that you as a player would want to read. Sugar coated reviews do not hold the visitors interest and as such visitors are more inclined to hit the back button on their browser.

GAV: Another thing that we like is your YouTube Channel, please be so kind and tell us more about it!

DS: When I redesigned OCR at the beginning of 2016, I realized video content is becoming more and more important. Hence our YouTube Channel was born. The purpose of the channel is to complement the site and also act as an independent resource in it’s own right. As well as videos of slot games in play, I also provide reviews of the casinos and cover various topics which I feel are important for players. Such as the dreaded ‘Reverse Withdrawals’ which many online casinos employ. After watching our Reverse Withdrawal Video, you will realize I am not a fan! In addition I also provide videos relating to my experiences as a webmaster, a fairly popular set of videos was when I detailed what happened to OCR after I implemented SSL on the site and the brief drop in rankings in google that occurred as a result.

GAV: We are pretty sure that you receive messages from Affiliate Managers on a daily basis showcasing their best products. You of course select them by the brands they work with; but what are your thoughts on how a real Affiliate Manager-Affiliate relationship should be built?

DS: The good relationships in my view are those which leave you to get on with your day to day job running your sites, rather than being badgered and pestered for what seems like every five minutes. I am lucky to have built up a good relationship with all the affiliate managers representing the online casinos we work with.

GAV: How do you see the future of the online casino/gambling industry? For instance, will it become a truly global phenomenon?

DS: I believe it already is. Obviously there are barriers such as individual countries regulation. There are also areas such as Asia and South America which has vast potential. The key is resolving issues with payment processors, so players in those territories are able to fund and withdraw from their accounts without any big issues.

GAV: Tell us one change that you want to see in the online casino affiliate ecosystem?!

DS: More transparency. Although how that is achieved is the big issue. As affiliates we are blind with regards the stats generated by the players we refer. Ideally it would be good to have an independent body that can go in and audit the affiliate programs. As it stands there are only a couple of programs I can trust 100% and one of them was set up by a very good friend of mine, with the CEO being my former MD ( 32Red ). I hate to even begin to think how much has been ‘shaved’ off our earnings over the past 13 years.

GAV: Do you have any advise you would like to offer and share with the newbies who are looking to venture into this great industry!?

DS: This is not a get rich quick scheme. Particularly so now, with many venture capitalists joining the affiliate space. If you provide good content and are passionate about playing at casinos online, you should have a chance of making a success of your site. You also need to see what players want. Join a players forum such as Casinomeister and also if you can, attend one of the many affiliate conferences which are held throughout the year. Networking with your peers is crucial as you can then build great relationships with other webmasters. In turn helping each other out. Whether it be advise, or exchanging links.

GAV: Do you attend any iGaming/online casino conferences? If so, which one is your favorite and what is your most fun experience?

DS: My favourite of all time used to be the Casino Affiliate Convention held in Amsterdam. I got engaged to my wife during the 2006 conference and I also spoke on the end of session Beer Forum Panel in 2007. Plus the small memory of escaping the Ash Cloud affected conference of 2011. That was fun. Getting a train with Alex Pratt of iGaming Business, from Amsterdam to Dunkirk. Then the ferry back to Dover courtesy of Wael – An affiliate manager from the casino Box24.

I’ve also spoken at LAC back in 2011, where I was on panel with Michael Corfman from CasinoCity and JTodd of the APCW. I would consider going to a Vegas conference, but I am worried I would literally lose my shirt! So as of yet I still am to make the trip there.

GAV: How did you see this year’s edition of ICE compared to previous years? Did you attend LAC (London Affiliate Conference) as well?

DS: I only attended the ICE and also the annual Casinomeister Meet. I have produced a couple of videos covering both. 2 nights in London is enough for me. The ICE just continues to get bigger every year. Back in 2006 which was the first ICE I attended, iGaming was only afforded a small area of space at Earls Court. Now the stands for iGaming rival the space afforded to their land based cousin.

 

GAV: What do you think the chances are for Eastern Europe to become a potential gaming hotspot in the future? Where do you think the region must improve upon?

DS: Again, I believe this is another lucrative market and whilst in the past there have been issues with fraudulent player activity, it does seem to be an area for potential growth.

GAV: Where would you like to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: Funnily enough I have always wanted to go to Russia. But, I won’t be going there for the World Cup in 2018!

GAV: Where you wouldn’t want to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: I like travelling, so I’m quite adventurous. There is honestly no where I wouldn’t go if provided the opportunity.

GAV: How about a favorite celebrity, do you have one?

DS: To be honest, no I don’t.

GAV: Do you have a favorite quoute?

DS: It is what it is.

GAV: Tell us your opinion about the Gambling Affiliate Voice?

DS: A good resource for webmasters in the industry. Well worth bookmarking.

 

If you would like to suggest subjects for future interviews, be sure to send your suggestions to: george@gamblingaffiliatevoice.com .

Affiliate Success

AffiliateINSIDER hosts first-of-its-kind Business Coaching Workshop at AIBootcamp with George Swift , Bigger Brighter Bolder

Published

on

AffiliateINSIDER hosts first-of-its-kind Business Coaching Workshop at AIBootcamp with George Swift , Bigger Brighter Bolder

 

Celebrated UK entrepreneur business coach George Swift will host an exclusive ‘Elevate and Thrive’ Affiliate Business Coaching Workshop at March’s AffiliateINSIDER Bootcamp, the first time such an initiative has ever been offered at an igaming affiliate event.

Held at Under the Bridge, a unique and stylish venue positioned underneath Chelsea’s Stamford Bridge Stadium, the two-day event on 21-22 March has been designed to help igaming affiliates growth hack and gain expert digital knowledge for driving traffic to their sites.

Swift, who runs business coaching group Bigger, Brighter, Bolder (BBB), will ensure affiliate entrepreneurs focus on their individual journey in obtaining business success and have the right business mindset to drive revenue growth.

The workshop is built around the ‘hero’s journey’ – a powerful metaphor for the journey to business success. While learning tools and tactics is essential, equally important for success is having the right business mindset.

Business coaches can be an invaluable resource when it comes to bolstering your business model, with the International Coach Federation suggesting they can increase

profit margins by an average of 46%. Further research has demonstrated a 570% return on initial investment in coaching.

This coaching session is not only unique to the AffiliateINSIDER Bootcamp conference, it is the first time an affiliate event will host a dedicated business coaching workshop.

Curated by AI founder and CEO Lee-Ann Johnstone, the event boasts a full two-day agenda of digital expert speakers, an experts mentor panel and several opportunities to make new introductions, giving attendees the chance to grow their business network.

“We are delighted to be hosting the first curated affiliate business coaching workshop for iGaming affiliates at Bootcamp this year. Affiliates who are looking to growth hack their business will certainly get the digital insights they need to get ahead of the curve and we’ll help them build a stronger entrepreneurial mindset to support their business success,” Johnstone explained.

Swift added: “I believe entrepreneurism is the greatest vocation on earth and offers an unprecedented opportunity  to those that step up to its calling. However, that opportunity comes at a price: it’s hard work, challenging and can be very lonely.

“Whilst every journey is unique, there are commonalities we all share and those are what I will be sharing on the day. I’m really excited to be part of the AffiliateINSIDER Bootcamp and I’m looking forward to sharing the Entrepreneurial Journey of Success with all present.”

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

LeoVegas really is making dreams come true this Christmas

Published

on

LeoVegas really is making dreams come true this Christmas

LeoVegas is giving away 5 nights under the Northern Lights!

It’s that festive time of year when our customers begin to dream of log fires, Christmas trees and dashing through the snow on a reindeer-drawn sleigh with mince pie crumbs in their laps. Well, good tidings are here as LeoVegas would like to spread the festive cheer by making two of these lucky customers’ dreams come true this New Year!

We will send two players and their plus ones to the Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort in Lapland on a once in a lifetime trip where they’ll sleep under the stars in glass roofed igloos – and may even see the Northern Lights flickering above while tucked up cosy and warm in a comfy bed as the snow falls around them.

This incredible trip also includes six activities which winners can choose themselves. These include a 4-hour husky safari, Aurora hunting on a horse drawn sleigh, visiting reindeer on a snowmobile or learning how to master Nordic skiing.

To be in with a chance of winning, new customers just need to deposit and wager 50 in the Live Casino or Casino (from 10/12/18 to 01/01/19) on any game to get one ticket into the raffle. The winners will then be drawn randomly on 2nd January.

A geo-targeted landing page promoting the campaign will be available by end of this week. Please contact your account manager or AffiliateTeam@leovegas.com for the media ID or if you have any queries. This campaign will be live in all markets except Italy from 10th December.

Leo really is making dreams come true this Christmas at LeoVegas!

Best regards,

The LeoVegas Affiliate Team

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

Affiliate Interviews: Steven Hubbard, of SweGaming and BettingLounge

Published

on

Affiliate Interviews: Steven Hubbard, of SweGaming and BettingLounge

 

This is our second interview with Swegaming. We are checking how they are doing right now.

 

GAV: Hi Steven, first off we’ve been talking with you before, around 2 years ago to be exact, and first wanted an update on what Swegaming and BettingLounge have been up to since then.

The last two years have been hectic for Swegaming as a company, and since I joined this year we’ve been ramping up our efforts towards the UK market with our site BettingLounge.

We’ve launched a completely new look and feel to the site while adding new sections including our popular betting tips. We have also added new functionality and content to help our visitors make the right decision when choosing which betting sites to use.

 

GAV: Could you tell us some quick facts about you?

Name: Steven Hubbard

Age: 24

Hometown: Wymondham

Living in: Gothenburg

Favourite Food: Pizza

Must read book: Running: The Autobiography

Best dart player: Phil Taylor

 

GAV: Tell us more about yourself, we want to know exactly who Steven is, the product owner of Bettinglounge. How was it to move to a new country? How is it to work at a big affiliate company as Swegaming?

Well, I grew up in a small town in Norfolk, England. I spent most of my working life as a Lifeguard and Swimming teacher but decided to go travelling for a change.

There I met my Swedish girlfriend and moved to Gothenburg, where I met Andreas and David (founders of SweGaming AB). Moving to Sweden was a lot harder than the travelling I had done, but I had great support from my girlfriend and her family.

Working at SweGaming has been a wonderful opportunity to learn and develop new skills. They have a lot of valuable experience in the Swedish market and exciting ideas for the UK.

 

GAV: What would you say is the biggest competitive advantages for Bettinglounge? What makes Bettinglounge stand out from the crowd?

We are looking to change the affiliate industry by offering an honest, transparent and personal product. All while promoting safe and responsible gambling.

We have some really exciting long-term projects that I think will add a lot of value to BettingLounge, while continuing with our personal touch instead of hiding behind a brand name.

 

GAV: What is the biggest challenge for you as a product owner?

The need for constant innovation is the biggest challenge facing us. There are a massive number of affiliates in the UK, and we have to offer something special to stand out.

 

GAV: We have done some reading at your site and found out some really interesting betting tips, how can you know so much!?

Well, I am in no way a betting tipster or expert. But, I have been following sports, mainly football and darts for most of my life. Of course, you learn a lot from that over the years.

But, the most valuable information is gained by a bit of research. All of our tips are well researched with key stats and facts for the match. It is not a foolproof way of betting, but it will help in your decision making.

See our betting tips as a guide, or if you agree, of course, you are welcome to back them. But, remember to do so in a fun and responsible way.

 

GAV: Steven, who is your favourite model? Is it Zlatan or David Beckham?

Ah, that’s a tough one. Of course, David Beckham is my favourite model. I mean his boxers are not great, but what a man he is!

 

GAV: What betting tip has been your best in ROI?

The best betting tip so far has been a 12/1 win treble with Betway. Three away wins, Lincoln City, Leicester and Doncaster.

Although, Doncaster finished 3-2 and we had a nervy 7+ minutes of extra time that was not appreciated.

 

GAV: What is the best with TheGamblingAffiliateVoice?

The best thing is definitely to find new gaming conferences and read comprehensive articles . You are doing a great job writing about the conference Sigma on Malta. More affiliates and operators should definitely go to Sigma which is the best conference in my opinion.

Continue Reading

Groups

Latest News

Casino Games for Real Money – Choosing One to Play Casino Games for Real Money – Choosing One to Play
News2 days ago

Casino Games for Real Money – Choosing One to Play

  TThis post tells how to pick a casino game for real money, prioritizing slots, roulette, baccarat and blackjack.  ...

Great night for Worldpokerdeals at the iGB Affiliate Awards 2019 Great night for Worldpokerdeals at the iGB Affiliate Awards 2019
Awards1 week ago

Great night for Worldpokerdeals at the iGB Affiliate Awards 2019

  Worldpokerdeals had a great night the last February 9, 2019, during the iGB Affiliate Awards where they confirmed its leadership on the...

KING BILLY WINS THE BIG ONE! KING BILLY WINS THE BIG ONE!
Awards1 week ago

KING BILLY WINS THE BIG ONE!

  The cyber-ink of our last article about King Billy and his tendency to get awarded hasn’t even dried up...

PartnerMatrix powers TotoGaming Affiliate Program PartnerMatrix powers TotoGaming Affiliate Program
Affiliate Program News2 weeks ago

PartnerMatrix powers TotoGaming Affiliate Program

  EveryMatrix is delighted to support the launch of TotoGaming Affiliate Program through its PartnerMatrix Affiliate Management solution directly integrated...

Global Gaming Affiliates wins big at the iGB Affiliate Awards Global Gaming Affiliates wins big at the iGB Affiliate Awards
Affiliate Program News2 weeks ago

Global Gaming Affiliates wins big at the iGB Affiliate Awards

  Global Gaming Affiliates has cemented its position as one of the industry’s fastest-growing affiliate programmes after being named Best...

House Tech Ads to light up LAC House Tech Ads to light up LAC
London Affiliate Conference3 weeks ago

House Tech Ads to light up the London Affiliate Conference

  Leading affiliate network to have large presence at premier London event   House Tech Ads will have a large...

CasinoGuide goes German! CasinoGuide goes German!
News3 weeks ago

CasinoGuide goes German!

  The online casino comparison site launches on a new domain catering for German-speaking players.   A new domain Following...

Blexr Scoops Top Affiliate Prize at EGR Nordics Blexr Scoops Top Affiliate Prize at EGR Nordics
Awards4 weeks ago

Blexr Scoops Top Affiliate Prize at EGR Nordics 2019

  Blexr’s ongoing success has been further recognised after it won Affiliate of the Year at the EGR Nordics Awards...

ComeOn! ambassador and former Arsenal and England star Ray Parlour to appear at LAC ComeOn! ambassador and former Arsenal and England star Ray Parlour to appear at LAC
London Affiliate Conference4 weeks ago

ComeOn! ambassador and former Arsenal and England star Ray Parlour to appear at LAC

  Ahead of the 2019 London Affiliate Conference next month, award winning casino and sports betting site ComeOn! have confirmed...

King Billy Awards 2018 King Billy Awards 2018
News4 weeks ago

KING BILLY CASINO. KING OF AWARDS!

  It seems that in our times, being a King is an one-way ticket to “Awardland”. After King Stannis, King...

Advertisement

Trending

Skip to toolbar