Connect with us

Affiliate Success

Affiliate Interviews: Dave Sawyer founder of OnlineCasinoReviewer.com

Published

on

Dave of OCR

Today we bring you a truly exclusive interview with a veteran/master of the iGaming industry! Dave Sawyer has a 16 year old background in the online gambling industry, including 3 years at Ladbrokes International as head of the IT Department. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it!?!

Without any further side details, we give you the interview with Dave Sawyer.

GAV: Dave, we would like to thank you for the opportunity to interview such a highly appreciated professional of the industry. Could you fill out the short form below so our readers can imagine your profile?

Name: Dave Sawyer
Age: 42
Hometown: Bath
Living in: Trowbridge
Favorite Food: Italian
Profession/Job title: Company Director

GAV: Hello Dave, first of all tell us and our readers a little bit about yourself. How did your career start in the online gambling industry? What was the key idea of developing this great online gambling casino guide/community ?

DS: My career in the iGaming Industry started way back at the beginning of October 2000, when I started work for Ladbrokes out in Gibraltar. The week of my start date with Ladbrokes also coincided with the launch of their Online Casino product. Back then the Ladbrokes International Offices were responsible for their telephone betting call centre, online sports book, online casino and then hosted other iGaming products such as Poker, Games etc over the forthcoming years.

During the 2001 Budget, UK betting shop tax duty was scrapped in a deal with the major UK bookmakers who had facilities offshore. Hence as part of the deal we went from a staff of over 200 in Gibraltar to less than 20, once the Call Centre and support staff were relocated to the UK. As I was part of the IT Team, I was kept on, as the casino and subsequently online poker sites were still to be hosted on the Rock.

Soon afterwards both my Managing Director (Ed Ware now CEO of 32Red) at Ladbrokes and the IT Controller (Graham Campbell – Founding Director of 32Red) left. I was then subsequently appointed the IT Services Manager for the Ladbrokes Gibraltar IT Department. It was Graham’s idea for me to enter the affiliate sector in 2003, as at the time he and Ed along with a few others had set up 32Red.com in April 2002. I had been running a pretty active political forum, which was receiving good exposure in the search engines, in particular Google. So eventually after much persuasion from Graham I bit the bullet and in August 2004 I registered the domain name OnlineCasinoReviewer.com. It took about 9 months before the site started to generate revenue or receive exposure in Google search – this was during the time when new sites would be placed in the dreaded ‘Sandbox’. But by June 2005, I decided to take the plunge and work on the site full time, handing in my resignation in June 2005. Leaving Ladbrokes at the end of August 2005, after serving a 3 month notice period and after working for them for nearly 5 years.

As a player as well as an affiliate, I offer our visitors the information that I as player need, to make an informed decision as to where to play at online. Having had nearly 5 years experience working for an iGaming Operator in the form of Ladbrokes, I am also able to offer my own views, opinions and advice from my own unique perspective. Online Casino Reviewer is not a directory, meaning it does not list every single site available to play at online. Indeed, currently there are only 29 recommended casinos on the site. With each one I have personally played at and experienced.

In short, OCR is a resource for players written by players.

 

OCR logo

 

GAV: Since there are thousands and thousands of websites in your niche out there, where do you think Onlinecasinoreviewer.com stands now?

DS: Unlike the majority of ‘affiliate’ sites targeting the online casino space, OCR as mentioned above is a resource for players, written by players. Instead of the general reviews of casinos and games found on the majority of sites, which sugar coat everything, the real pitfalls of any of the properties featured on OCR are spelled out. This in addition to our helpful guides such as on Reverse Withdrawals, Casino Bonuses, Fast Paying Casinos to name but three articles, allow players to make an informed choice before opening an account at online casino.

GAV: How do you see the online casino market/industry at this moment?

DS: This industry never ceases to amaze me and is still growing at a fast pace. The operators working in this space are some of the most innovative that you can find online. The potential for growth is still very real and this has seen an influx of ‘Super Affiliates’ enter the space and compete for a slice of the revenue available.

GAV: How did you start and most of all what bumps did you have to overcome at the beginning?

DS: As stated above, I was working at Ladbrokes in Gibraltar when I launched OCR. Thus had the luxury of a regular salary coming in before I started to earn revenue from the site. The main issue at the time was dealing with the dreaded ‘Google Sandbox’.

GAV: We have analyzed Onlinecasinoreviewer.com and found some great quality content. Are you writing it by yourself or do you have a team of people writing for you? How many reviews are there on your website? How about the news and the software categories, tell us a bit more about it?

DS: The vast majority of the content is written by myself. However, I have outsourced some of the slot game reviews to players who I know through my participation on the Casinomeister Forum.

GAV: How do you manage to keep the content fresh and relevant on your website, when a lot of fluffy and nonsense appear on the Internet on a daily basis?

DS: The key is to provide information that you as a player would want to read. Sugar coated reviews do not hold the visitors interest and as such visitors are more inclined to hit the back button on their browser.

GAV: Another thing that we like is your YouTube Channel, please be so kind and tell us more about it!

DS: When I redesigned OCR at the beginning of 2016, I realized video content is becoming more and more important. Hence our YouTube Channel was born. The purpose of the channel is to complement the site and also act as an independent resource in it’s own right. As well as videos of slot games in play, I also provide reviews of the casinos and cover various topics which I feel are important for players. Such as the dreaded ‘Reverse Withdrawals’ which many online casinos employ. After watching our Reverse Withdrawal Video, you will realize I am not a fan! In addition I also provide videos relating to my experiences as a webmaster, a fairly popular set of videos was when I detailed what happened to OCR after I implemented SSL on the site and the brief drop in rankings in google that occurred as a result.

GAV: We are pretty sure that you receive messages from Affiliate Managers on a daily basis showcasing their best products. You of course select them by the brands they work with; but what are your thoughts on how a real Affiliate Manager-Affiliate relationship should be built?

DS: The good relationships in my view are those which leave you to get on with your day to day job running your sites, rather than being badgered and pestered for what seems like every five minutes. I am lucky to have built up a good relationship with all the affiliate managers representing the online casinos we work with.

GAV: How do you see the future of the online casino/gambling industry? For instance, will it become a truly global phenomenon?

DS: I believe it already is. Obviously there are barriers such as individual countries regulation. There are also areas such as Asia and South America which has vast potential. The key is resolving issues with payment processors, so players in those territories are able to fund and withdraw from their accounts without any big issues.

GAV: Tell us one change that you want to see in the online casino affiliate ecosystem?!

DS: More transparency. Although how that is achieved is the big issue. As affiliates we are blind with regards the stats generated by the players we refer. Ideally it would be good to have an independent body that can go in and audit the affiliate programs. As it stands there are only a couple of programs I can trust 100% and one of them was set up by a very good friend of mine, with the CEO being my former MD ( 32Red ). I hate to even begin to think how much has been ‘shaved’ off our earnings over the past 13 years.

GAV: Do you have any advise you would like to offer and share with the newbies who are looking to venture into this great industry!?

DS: This is not a get rich quick scheme. Particularly so now, with many venture capitalists joining the affiliate space. If you provide good content and are passionate about playing at casinos online, you should have a chance of making a success of your site. You also need to see what players want. Join a players forum such as Casinomeister and also if you can, attend one of the many affiliate conferences which are held throughout the year. Networking with your peers is crucial as you can then build great relationships with other webmasters. In turn helping each other out. Whether it be advise, or exchanging links.

GAV: Do you attend any iGaming/online casino conferences? If so, which one is your favorite and what is your most fun experience?

DS: My favourite of all time used to be the Casino Affiliate Convention held in Amsterdam. I got engaged to my wife during the 2006 conference and I also spoke on the end of session Beer Forum Panel in 2007. Plus the small memory of escaping the Ash Cloud affected conference of 2011. That was fun. Getting a train with Alex Pratt of iGaming Business, from Amsterdam to Dunkirk. Then the ferry back to Dover courtesy of Wael – An affiliate manager from the casino Box24.

I’ve also spoken at LAC back in 2011, where I was on panel with Michael Corfman from CasinoCity and JTodd of the APCW. I would consider going to a Vegas conference, but I am worried I would literally lose my shirt! So as of yet I still am to make the trip there.

GAV: How did you see this year’s edition of ICE compared to previous years? Did you attend LAC (London Affiliate Conference) as well?

DS: I only attended the ICE and also the annual Casinomeister Meet. I have produced a couple of videos covering both. 2 nights in London is enough for me. The ICE just continues to get bigger every year. Back in 2006 which was the first ICE I attended, iGaming was only afforded a small area of space at Earls Court. Now the stands for iGaming rival the space afforded to their land based cousin.

 

GAV: What do you think the chances are for Eastern Europe to become a potential gaming hotspot in the future? Where do you think the region must improve upon?

DS: Again, I believe this is another lucrative market and whilst in the past there have been issues with fraudulent player activity, it does seem to be an area for potential growth.

GAV: Where would you like to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: Funnily enough I have always wanted to go to Russia. But, I won’t be going there for the World Cup in 2018!

GAV: Where you wouldn’t want to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: I like travelling, so I’m quite adventurous. There is honestly no where I wouldn’t go if provided the opportunity.

GAV: How about a favorite celebrity, do you have one?

DS: To be honest, no I don’t.

GAV: Do you have a favorite quoute?

DS: It is what it is.

GAV: Tell us your opinion about the Gambling Affiliate Voice?

DS: A good resource for webmasters in the industry. Well worth bookmarking.

 

If you would like to suggest subjects for future interviews, be sure to send your suggestions to: george@gamblingaffiliatevoice.com .

Affiliate Success

Last Chance to Join Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Event About Online Gambling Operations

Published

on

Last Chance to Join Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Event About Online Gambling Operations

 

On June 21, an international event company – Smile-Expo – will hold Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference. It is Switzerland’s only event dedicated to online gambling operations and online project promotion using affiliate marketing.

The event will be a platform for sharing experience and establishing cooperation between online casinos and land-based gambling venues.

Conference speakers and participants
The specialized event will bring together representatives of the offline and online gambling industry. It will be attended by casino managers, betting providers, SEO specialists, lawyers, affiliates, and digital agencies from the USA, France, Germany, Greece, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, and other European countries. They will introduce their companies holding leading iGaming market positions. They include: ORYX Gaming, PartnerMatrix, Endorphina, Red Tiger, Lucky Labz, Rombet, Federbet, Global Bet, Buffalo Partners, Astrea, Expozive, PLANZER LAW, etc.

Top industry experts will make relevant presentations on legal aspects of business operations, company performance optimization, and brand promotion.

Francesco Baranca: general secretary at Federbet. This Belgian non-commercial association combats fixed matches and supports betting companies and their customers.

Dan Iliovici: a specialist in business planning, management, and PR. He is former President of ONJN, the Romanian gambling authority, and Vice President at Rombet.

Robert Toth: has more than 10 years of experience in the iGaming sector. Currently, he is Key Account Manager at Global Bet, the largest independent provider of virtual sports.

Reuben Portanier: a professional with executive management experience in gambling, consultancy, technology, and finances. Director of Business Development at GTG Advocates and Founding Partner at Afilexion Alliance. These companies provide legal and consulting services. The speaker is also Co-Founder and Director at Caledo.

Joe Ewens: journalist and author of many materials dedicated to gambling. Now, he is a managing editor at GamblingCompliance, a provider of an independent legal, regulatory and business analytics in the global iGaming sector.

The conference will be followed by the Talks&Drinks party. Participants will be able to discuss critical issues as well as find new business partners and investors to implement future projects.

Location and organizer
The conference will take place at Sheraton Zurich Hotel. The registration of participants will start at 9:30 a.m.
The event is organized by Smile-Expo, a company that has been conducting international specialized В2В and В2С events for 13 years.

Hurry up to buy a ticket at the 20% discount! You should just use a promo code: PR20. Register to the conference right away.
Event details are available on the official website of Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference.

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

Media profile joins Better Collective

Published

on

Media profile joins Better Collective

 

World leading sports betting affiliate, Better Collective, hires former General Manager and Editor-in-Chief of Racing.com, Shane Anderson. Anderson joins the headquarters in Copenhagen where he will take on the position as Senior Director of Group Content & Brand.

 

On July 1st, 2019, former General Manager and Editor-in-Chief of Racing.com, Shane Anderson, joins Better Collective. In his new position as the Senior Director of Group Content & Brand, Anderson will be in charge of leading an ambitious content strategy that will strengthen the on-site content of Better Collective’s brands and products.

Jesper Søgaard, CEO of Better Collective, said: “We are extremely glad to get Shane Anderson on board with us. He comes with many years of managerial experience from within the industry and will help set an ambitious content vision that will empower the Better Collective brands, such as Bettingexpert.com, even further. This will ultimately lead to a better experience for our users.”

Shane Anderson said: “I have followed the development that Better Collective has undergone with great admiration over the past few years. I look forward to becoming part of the team in Copenhagen and bringing my experience within journalism to the content production of BC’s products to make them even stronger and more appealing to the global community of sports betting fans.”

Shane Anderson has been part of Racing.com since its launch in 2014, where he has both had the role as a television presenter, as well as a member of the executive management team.

 

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

Smile-Expo to Hold First Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference Dedicated to CPA Networks and Gambling

Published

on

Smile-Expo to Hold First Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference Dedicated to CPA Networks and Gambling

 

On October 17, Tbilisi will host Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference, the country’s first event dedicated to affiliate marketing in the gambling industry. The event will bring together gambling experts, software developers, and affiliates.

Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference by Smile-Expo will involve top gambling experts who will share information about new technologies and legal aspects as well as examine affiliate marketing prospects in Georgia and worldwide.

Online Gambling Market in Georgia
The Georgian gambling market is one of the core markets in Eastern Europe. Its traffic is freely accepted by such major affiliate networks as 3sNet, Adventor, and FINAFF.

Besides, Georgian gambling companies use foreign networks to offer their solutions and unique affiliate programs appropriate to their products. The country is included in the map of affiliate programs operating at global and regional levels.

Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference
It is Georgia’s first event dedicated to gambling affiliate marketing, online gambling, and market potential. Invited industry experts will make presentations on online gambling trends, compare legislative issues in different countries, and share secrets of iGaming affiliate program operations.

Exhibition Area
The exhibition area will allow iGaming companies, software developers, and affiliates to present their solutions and services. Attendees will be able to appreciate exhibitors’ products and talk to company representatives personally.

Whom the Conference Is Aimed at
Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference will be useful to affiliates, arbitrage specialists, online casino operators, affiliate network representatives, lawyers, developers of specialized software (web platforms, apps, programs), webmasters, SEO experts, and marketers.

The conference will allow to discover more about the gambling industry regulation, marketing strategies, and gambling affiliate programs. Conference guests will be able to take part in efficient networking, establish beneficial business contacts, and find new partners.

Organizer and Date
The event will be held by Smile-Expo, an international company that has been organizing business events for 13 years. Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference will take place in the capital of Georgia on October 17.

Continue Reading

Groups

Latest News

Last Chance to Join Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Event About Online Gambling Operations Last Chance to Join Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Event About Online Gambling Operations
Affiliate Success15 hours ago

Last Chance to Join Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Event About Online Gambling Operations

  On June 21, an international event company – Smile-Expo – will hold Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference. It is Switzerland’s...

Media profile joins Better Collective Media profile joins Better Collective
Affiliate Success7 days ago

Media profile joins Better Collective

  World leading sports betting affiliate, Better Collective, hires former General Manager and Editor-in-Chief of Racing.com, Shane Anderson. Anderson joins...

Smile-Expo to Hold First Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference Dedicated to CPA Networks and Gambling Smile-Expo to Hold First Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference Dedicated to CPA Networks and Gambling
Affiliate Success1 week ago

Smile-Expo to Hold First Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference Dedicated to CPA Networks and Gambling

  On October 17, Tbilisi will host Georgia iGaming Affiliate Conference, the country’s first event dedicated to affiliate marketing in...

Participants of Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Countries, Areas, and Companies Participants of Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Countries, Areas, and Companies
Affiliate Success1 week ago

Participants of Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference: Countries, Areas, and Companies

  On June 21, Switzerland will host Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference. It is the country’s first event uniting gambling business...

Affiliates and the resurgence of online bingo Affiliates and the resurgence of online bingo
Affiliate Success1 week ago

Affiliates and the resurgence of online bingo

  Thomas Jones, founder of NewBingoSites.net, says millennials present a huge opportunity for affiliates but they must overhaul their propositions...

Matching Visions Opens Shop in Lithuania Matching Visions Opens Shop in Lithuania
Affiliate Announcements2 weeks ago

Matching Visions Opens Shop in Lithuania

  It’s official, Matching Visions have opened their doors in Lithuania! With offices situated in Malta and Denmark, Matching Visions...

Hitting for six-cricket Hitting for six-cricket
Affiliate Success2 weeks ago

Hitting for six

  Tom Wardman, Business Development Executive at Independent Content Services, offers affiliates advice about how to use content to drive...

Afterparty at Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference – a Time for Productive Networking Afterparty at Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference – a Time for Productive Networking
News3 weeks ago

Afterparty at Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference – a Time for Productive Networking

  On June 21, Switzerland will host Zurich iGaming Affiliate Conference where gambling market representatives will be able not only...

Raketech Interim report Q1 2019 Raketech Interim report Q1 2019
News4 weeks ago

Raketech Interim report Q1 2019

  FIRST QUARTER 2019 Total revenues amounted to EUR 8.7 million (EUR 4.9 million) representing an increase of 78.2%. Total...

Highest Paying Affiliate Program Niches for Aussie Bloggers Highest Paying Affiliate Program Niches for Aussie Bloggers
Affiliate Success4 weeks ago

Highest Paying Affiliate Program Niches for Aussie Bloggers

  Let’s face it, online blogging is slowly losing momentum. Modern users prefer running vlogs on YouTube, writing Instagram posts...

Advertisement

Trending

Skip to toolbar