Connect with us

Affiliate Success

Affiliate Interviews: Dave Sawyer founder of OnlineCasinoReviewer.com

Published

on

Dave of OCR

Today we bring you a truly exclusive interview with a veteran/master of the iGaming industry! Dave Sawyer has a 16 year old background in the online gambling industry, including 3 years at Ladbrokes International as head of the IT Department. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it!?!

Without any further side details, we give you the interview with Dave Sawyer.

GAV: Dave, we would like to thank you for the opportunity to interview such a highly appreciated professional of the industry. Could you fill out the short form below so our readers can imagine your profile?

Name: Dave Sawyer
Age: 42
Hometown: Bath
Living in: Trowbridge
Favorite Food: Italian
Profession/Job title: Company Director

GAV: Hello Dave, first of all tell us and our readers a little bit about yourself. How did your career start in the online gambling industry? What was the key idea of developing this great online gambling casino guide/community ?

DS: My career in the iGaming Industry started way back at the beginning of October 2000, when I started work for Ladbrokes out in Gibraltar. The week of my start date with Ladbrokes also coincided with the launch of their Online Casino product. Back then the Ladbrokes International Offices were responsible for their telephone betting call centre, online sports book, online casino and then hosted other iGaming products such as Poker, Games etc over the forthcoming years.

During the 2001 Budget, UK betting shop tax duty was scrapped in a deal with the major UK bookmakers who had facilities offshore. Hence as part of the deal we went from a staff of over 200 in Gibraltar to less than 20, once the Call Centre and support staff were relocated to the UK. As I was part of the IT Team, I was kept on, as the casino and subsequently online poker sites were still to be hosted on the Rock.

Soon afterwards both my Managing Director (Ed Ware now CEO of 32Red) at Ladbrokes and the IT Controller (Graham Campbell – Founding Director of 32Red) left. I was then subsequently appointed the IT Services Manager for the Ladbrokes Gibraltar IT Department. It was Graham’s idea for me to enter the affiliate sector in 2003, as at the time he and Ed along with a few others had set up 32Red.com in April 2002. I had been running a pretty active political forum, which was receiving good exposure in the search engines, in particular Google. So eventually after much persuasion from Graham I bit the bullet and in August 2004 I registered the domain name OnlineCasinoReviewer.com. It took about 9 months before the site started to generate revenue or receive exposure in Google search – this was during the time when new sites would be placed in the dreaded ‘Sandbox’. But by June 2005, I decided to take the plunge and work on the site full time, handing in my resignation in June 2005. Leaving Ladbrokes at the end of August 2005, after serving a 3 month notice period and after working for them for nearly 5 years.

As a player as well as an affiliate, I offer our visitors the information that I as player need, to make an informed decision as to where to play at online. Having had nearly 5 years experience working for an iGaming Operator in the form of Ladbrokes, I am also able to offer my own views, opinions and advice from my own unique perspective. Online Casino Reviewer is not a directory, meaning it does not list every single site available to play at online. Indeed, currently there are only 29 recommended casinos on the site. With each one I have personally played at and experienced.

In short, OCR is a resource for players written by players.

 

OCR logo

 

GAV: Since there are thousands and thousands of websites in your niche out there, where do you think Onlinecasinoreviewer.com stands now?

DS: Unlike the majority of ‘affiliate’ sites targeting the online casino space, OCR as mentioned above is a resource for players, written by players. Instead of the general reviews of casinos and games found on the majority of sites, which sugar coat everything, the real pitfalls of any of the properties featured on OCR are spelled out. This in addition to our helpful guides such as on Reverse Withdrawals, Casino Bonuses, Fast Paying Casinos to name but three articles, allow players to make an informed choice before opening an account at online casino.

GAV: How do you see the online casino market/industry at this moment?

DS: This industry never ceases to amaze me and is still growing at a fast pace. The operators working in this space are some of the most innovative that you can find online. The potential for growth is still very real and this has seen an influx of ‘Super Affiliates’ enter the space and compete for a slice of the revenue available.

GAV: How did you start and most of all what bumps did you have to overcome at the beginning?

DS: As stated above, I was working at Ladbrokes in Gibraltar when I launched OCR. Thus had the luxury of a regular salary coming in before I started to earn revenue from the site. The main issue at the time was dealing with the dreaded ‘Google Sandbox’.

GAV: We have analyzed Onlinecasinoreviewer.com and found some great quality content. Are you writing it by yourself or do you have a team of people writing for you? How many reviews are there on your website? How about the news and the software categories, tell us a bit more about it?

DS: The vast majority of the content is written by myself. However, I have outsourced some of the slot game reviews to players who I know through my participation on the Casinomeister Forum.

GAV: How do you manage to keep the content fresh and relevant on your website, when a lot of fluffy and nonsense appear on the Internet on a daily basis?

DS: The key is to provide information that you as a player would want to read. Sugar coated reviews do not hold the visitors interest and as such visitors are more inclined to hit the back button on their browser.

GAV: Another thing that we like is your YouTube Channel, please be so kind and tell us more about it!

DS: When I redesigned OCR at the beginning of 2016, I realized video content is becoming more and more important. Hence our YouTube Channel was born. The purpose of the channel is to complement the site and also act as an independent resource in it’s own right. As well as videos of slot games in play, I also provide reviews of the casinos and cover various topics which I feel are important for players. Such as the dreaded ‘Reverse Withdrawals’ which many online casinos employ. After watching our Reverse Withdrawal Video, you will realize I am not a fan! In addition I also provide videos relating to my experiences as a webmaster, a fairly popular set of videos was when I detailed what happened to OCR after I implemented SSL on the site and the brief drop in rankings in google that occurred as a result.

GAV: We are pretty sure that you receive messages from Affiliate Managers on a daily basis showcasing their best products. You of course select them by the brands they work with; but what are your thoughts on how a real Affiliate Manager-Affiliate relationship should be built?

DS: The good relationships in my view are those which leave you to get on with your day to day job running your sites, rather than being badgered and pestered for what seems like every five minutes. I am lucky to have built up a good relationship with all the affiliate managers representing the online casinos we work with.

GAV: How do you see the future of the online casino/gambling industry? For instance, will it become a truly global phenomenon?

DS: I believe it already is. Obviously there are barriers such as individual countries regulation. There are also areas such as Asia and South America which has vast potential. The key is resolving issues with payment processors, so players in those territories are able to fund and withdraw from their accounts without any big issues.

GAV: Tell us one change that you want to see in the online casino affiliate ecosystem?!

DS: More transparency. Although how that is achieved is the big issue. As affiliates we are blind with regards the stats generated by the players we refer. Ideally it would be good to have an independent body that can go in and audit the affiliate programs. As it stands there are only a couple of programs I can trust 100% and one of them was set up by a very good friend of mine, with the CEO being my former MD ( 32Red ). I hate to even begin to think how much has been ‘shaved’ off our earnings over the past 13 years.

GAV: Do you have any advise you would like to offer and share with the newbies who are looking to venture into this great industry!?

DS: This is not a get rich quick scheme. Particularly so now, with many venture capitalists joining the affiliate space. If you provide good content and are passionate about playing at casinos online, you should have a chance of making a success of your site. You also need to see what players want. Join a players forum such as Casinomeister and also if you can, attend one of the many affiliate conferences which are held throughout the year. Networking with your peers is crucial as you can then build great relationships with other webmasters. In turn helping each other out. Whether it be advise, or exchanging links.

GAV: Do you attend any iGaming/online casino conferences? If so, which one is your favorite and what is your most fun experience?

DS: My favourite of all time used to be the Casino Affiliate Convention held in Amsterdam. I got engaged to my wife during the 2006 conference and I also spoke on the end of session Beer Forum Panel in 2007. Plus the small memory of escaping the Ash Cloud affected conference of 2011. That was fun. Getting a train with Alex Pratt of iGaming Business, from Amsterdam to Dunkirk. Then the ferry back to Dover courtesy of Wael – An affiliate manager from the casino Box24.

I’ve also spoken at LAC back in 2011, where I was on panel with Michael Corfman from CasinoCity and JTodd of the APCW. I would consider going to a Vegas conference, but I am worried I would literally lose my shirt! So as of yet I still am to make the trip there.

GAV: How did you see this year’s edition of ICE compared to previous years? Did you attend LAC (London Affiliate Conference) as well?

DS: I only attended the ICE and also the annual Casinomeister Meet. I have produced a couple of videos covering both. 2 nights in London is enough for me. The ICE just continues to get bigger every year. Back in 2006 which was the first ICE I attended, iGaming was only afforded a small area of space at Earls Court. Now the stands for iGaming rival the space afforded to their land based cousin.

 

GAV: What do you think the chances are for Eastern Europe to become a potential gaming hotspot in the future? Where do you think the region must improve upon?

DS: Again, I believe this is another lucrative market and whilst in the past there have been issues with fraudulent player activity, it does seem to be an area for potential growth.

GAV: Where would you like to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: Funnily enough I have always wanted to go to Russia. But, I won’t be going there for the World Cup in 2018!

GAV: Where you wouldn’t want to travel in Eastern Europe?

DS: I like travelling, so I’m quite adventurous. There is honestly no where I wouldn’t go if provided the opportunity.

GAV: How about a favorite celebrity, do you have one?

DS: To be honest, no I don’t.

GAV: Do you have a favorite quoute?

DS: It is what it is.

GAV: Tell us your opinion about the Gambling Affiliate Voice?

DS: A good resource for webmasters in the industry. Well worth bookmarking.

 

If you would like to suggest subjects for future interviews, be sure to send your suggestions to: [email protected] .

Affiliate Success

Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Best Tech for Affiliates’ 2022 iGB Affiliate Award

Published

on

Paysafe’s Income Access wins ‘Best Tech for Affiliates’ 2022 iGB Affiliate Award

 

Income Access platform recognized as the leading software solution for global iGaming affiliate marketers at industry awards in London 

 Paysafe, a leading specialized payments platform, today announced that Income Access, its marketing technology and services provider, won in the ‘Best Tech for Affiliates’ category at the 2022 iGB Affiliate Awards, held last night at the Troxy, in London, U.K.

Taking place during this week’s ICE London and iGB Affiliate London conferences, the iGB Affiliate Awards recognized the affiliate marketers, affiliate managers, operators and software providers like Income Access that have excelled in the global affiliate space over the last 12 months. Income Access’ ‘Best Tech for Affiliates’ iGB Affiliate award follows a series of major affiliate-focused upgrades to the company’s turnkey multi-channel tracking and reporting platform.

Among 30+ unique reports, the platform’s key reports were enhanced in 2021 through 2022 to optimize the user experience (UX) for affiliates while increasing transparency on data and performance metrics. Other tech enhancements included a move to the cloud to improve response times for affiliates and facilitate scalability for the future.

Affiliate payments were also streamlined through a platform integration with Paysafe’s Skrill digital wallet, with the addition of multiple new currencies.

Income Access continued to strengthen the Income Access Network, the iGaming industry’s longest-serving independent affiliate network. Over the last 12 months, multiple new brands serving a diverse range of iGaming verticals and markets integrated with the Network, and its affiliate membership expanded by 1,000+.

Geoff Smorong, Vice President of Operations at Paysafe’s Income Access, said: “Whether it’s our affiliate platform, the Income Access Network, or our affiliate management services, affiliates are at the heart of everything we do at Income Access. We’re therefore delighted to see our software development and technology honoured at the iGB Affiliate Awards.”

Zak Cutler, CEO of North America iGaming at Paysafe, commented: “Affiliates play an instrumental role in player acquisition for iGaming brands and have helped drive the growth of our wider industry. Given the affiliate channel’s importance, this award is a huge achievement for Income Access, reflecting the innovation, hard work and dedication of their entire team.”

 

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

Crash course for becoming a master in Casino Affiliate Marketing

Published

on

 

Intro

Online casino culture is immensely popular. With the increasing popularity of online casinos, another profitable device is also getting popular, known as online casino affiliate websites. A casino affiliate works alongside an online casino in promoting their business in return for a commission. In some cases, they may have experience operating an online casino. They provide all the details regarding gambling activities and other relevant information about a gambling site. So, the players can be well aware before taking any action. In this article, we will be discussing the basics, tips, and tricks of becoming an affiliate (casino affiliate).

 

Affiliate programs

Casino affiliates act as a mediator between the casinos and players. The casino affiliates get a tracking link for tracking the players who play or register in the casino. The affiliate program ensures to pay a business partner for bringing the players to the casino. Joining an affiliate program is simple as it does not require any sign-up charges. You are only required to have a website, to promote the various brand of online casinos by setting up banners and other related advertisements. Once the visitors click on the ad, affiliates start earning money. There are some essential factors to consider before joining an affiliate program.

  • You must be sure that you are entering into a partnership with a reliable and reputed casino.
  • Ensure that the number of commissions is processed timely in a safe environment.

 

Features of a casino affiliate

Sometimes it becomes difficult to spot casino affiliates and casino websites. Here are a few features that are applicable for casino affiliates only:

  • Generally, casino affiliates have the same type of imagery and similar language to attract players.
  • Affiliate websites do not have game catalogs like casino websites rather they provide reviews of online casino games and certain free demo games.
  • Casino affiliates usually promote multiple casino brands with various logos, advertisements, and offers.
  • The main goal of casino affiliates is to get players and sign them up for one of their casino partners.

 

Payment arrangements for Casino Affiliates

In terms of payments, there are two models that are very popular for paying affiliates.

  • The first one is the revenue sharing model that ensures payment to a casino affiliate as a percentage of profit earned from the traffic generated by the affiliate in a month. In this case, the higher traffic is equal to the higher payment.
  • The other model is CPA or cost per acquisition model. Here, payment is based on the users’ The online casinos pay the affiliates based on — whether a player signs up for a casino account or signs up and makes the first deposit. But in both the models, the income is based on performance.

Some casino operators provide only one payment option, while others can offer more than two. Before joining an affiliate program, an affiliate should understand certain restrictions, terms, and conditions to keep away adverse effects.

 

How to Become a Casino Affiliate

Casino brands always want customers from all over the world, and that is why they use casino affiliates to improve their prospective reach. It can be advantageous for the casinos to start in a country where a particular casino brand is not well-known. Various live casino sites are attractive to brands that seek information on their operations. After signing up for the affiliate program and getting an affiliate link, you need to get down to work. The affiliate creates content in different forms, such as text links, banners, and more.

 

Conclusion

Casino affiliates employ a wide range of interactive online platforms. They provide offers for attracting and retaining customers. But it is very important to do a thorough background or profile check before joining an affiliate program to understand whether the casino is reliable or a fly-by-night operation. If everything checks out, it is a potentially lucrative business to be involved in.

Continue Reading

Affiliate Success

OMG Affiliates won the Rising Star at iGB Affiliate 2022

Published

on

OMG Affiliates won the Rising Star at iGB Affiliate 2022

 

OMG Affiliates, a program developed by Vita Media Group, has won the Rising Star Award at the iGB Affiliate 2022!

The award night took place last night (April 13th, 2022) at the Troxy theater in London.

This is the first award for OMG Affiliates where one of the industry’s finest award organizations, iGB Affiliate, has crowned the team for its performance and achievements. The OMG Affiliates was shortlisted in one more category, Best Affiliate Program.

This is also the first award for Vita Media Group as a company and is a solidifying proof of the quality of the different products and business verticals developed under Vita Media Group. As a total summary of the award night, iGB shortlisted Vita Media Group in the Best Casino Affiliate category as well.

After a year where Vita Media Group grew the OMG Affiliates vertical through strategic acquisitions of the rewarded Trada Casino and Greenplay, a casino formerly owned by Codere, the plan for the future holds optimistic plans.

Through this achievement, Vita Media Group continues to expand as a one-stop solution to growth in iGaming.

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Latest News

AstroPay expands services with the launch of Global Affiliates Programme AstroPay expands services with the launch of Global Affiliates Programme
Affiliate Program News2 months ago

AstroPay expands services with the launch of Global Affiliates Programme

  AstroPay, the online payment solution of choice for millions of users worldwide, has launched a flagship global Affiliate Programme...

Casino Guru Releases New Tool to Help Players Find Best Casinos Casino Guru Releases New Tool to Help Players Find Best Casinos
News2 months ago

Casino Guru Releases New Tool to Help Players Find Best Casinos

  Casino Guru, a global source of information about online casinos and the biggest database of casino websites, is always...

SLOTS TEMPLE GETS LICENSED IN UK, FREE SLOTS SITE NOW OFFERING CASH PRIZES SLOTS TEMPLE GETS LICENSED IN UK, FREE SLOTS SITE NOW OFFERING CASH PRIZES
Affiliate Compliance2 months ago

SLOTS TEMPLE GETS LICENSED IN UK, FREE SLOTS SITE NOW OFFERING CASH PRIZES

  Slots Temple is first affiliate to win UKGC licensing, allowing it to offer real-money prizes for slots tournaments Free...

News2 months ago

The Essential Guide to Bingo Slots Online

  Bingo Slots Online It is believed that luck plays a major role in bingo. The odds you choose to...

News2 months ago

Staying On Top in a Fast Changing Industry

The online gambling industry is one of the fastest-growing industries worldwide. This can be attributed to the fact that there...

News2 months ago

LeoVegas Invest in New Tech Hub in Warsaw Despite Its Products Being Unavailable in Polish Market

  The Polish marketplace is a strange territory for the iGaming industry. On the one hand, it has some of...

WPT GLOBAL JOINS GAMBLING PORTAL WEBMASTERS ASSOCIATION AS PLATINUM SPONSOR WPT GLOBAL JOINS GAMBLING PORTAL WEBMASTERS ASSOCIATION AS PLATINUM SPONSOR
Affiliate Announcements2 months ago

WPT GLOBAL JOINS GAMBLING PORTAL WEBMASTERS ASSOCIATION AS PLATINUM SPONSOR

  WPT Global, the online poker platform licensed by the World Poker Tour, has joined the Gambling Portal Webmasters Association...

HITSQWAD PARTNERS WITH FIRST LOOK AS IT UNLEASHES DEBUT GAMES HITSQWAD PARTNERS WITH FIRST LOOK AS IT UNLEASHES DEBUT GAMES
Affiliate Announcements3 months ago

HITSQWAD PARTNERS WITH FIRST LOOK AS IT UNLEASHES DEBUT GAMES

  First Look Games will enable affiliates to access HITSqwad’s action-packed jackpot titles Challenger games studio HITSqwad has partnered with...

LottaRewards Launches New Features for Enhanced Player Experience! LottaRewards Launches New Features for Enhanced Player Experience!
Affiliate Announcements3 months ago

LottaRewards Launches New Features for Enhanced Player Experience!

  LottaRewards is thrilled to announce that they have taken their brand experience to the next level. Many features across...

Compliance Experts Rightlander Launch New Tools to Pre-Screen Partner Content Compliance Experts Rightlander Launch New Tools to Pre-Screen Partner Content
News3 months ago

Compliance Experts Rightlander Launch New Tools to Pre-Screen Partner Content

  Rightlander has announced the launch of Screen which is designed to assist brands assess the suitability of marketing partners...

Trending

European Gaming Media and Events is a leading media and boutique event organizer in the European Union with a monthly reach of +110,000 readers. The official company (PROSHIRT SRL), has been listed for 4 years in a row among the top 3 Advertising and market research agencies in the local Top Business Romania Microcompanies based on the Financial Reports.

Contact us: [email protected]

Editorial / PR Submissions: [email protected]

Copyright © 2015 - 2022 European Gaming Media and Events. Registered in Romania under Proshirt SRL, Company number: 2134306, EU VAT ID: RO21343605. Office address: Blvd. 1 Decembrie 1918 nr.5, Targu Mures, Romania